Help us Implement the Medicaid ABA Benefit!   Recently updated !


Another action is required to move the ABA program forward!

Your efforts, along with other advocates and providers, pushed the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) to take a small step forward in implementing the Medicaid ABA benefit!

HHSC has sent a letter asking the Governor’s office and the Legislative Budget Board (LBB) to approve funding for the program. HHSC also included proposed rates for provider reimbursement and set a date for the program to start (if funded) for March 1st of 2021 – a year later than was proposed in December of 2019.

Now we need a second push! 

Please contact the Governor’s office, House and Senate Leadership, and the member of LBB listed below and tell them:

  • Approve funding for the $7.9 million dollar General Revenue request for intensive intervention behavior services for the remainder of the 2020-21 biennium

It’s also important to remind decision-makers that HHSC must:

  • Set “reasonable provider reimbursement rates” to ensure that all children who qualify for the benefit will receive services
  • Don’t predetermine and limit services by age – allocate supports according to medical necessity
  • Keep other autism services like the Children’s Autism Program separate as the other programs provide a unique set of critical supports and services

Please call or email these offices:

Governor’s Office (512) 463-1762 greg.abbott@gov.texas.gov
Lt. Governor – Dan Patrick (512) 463-0001 dan.patrick@ltgov.state.tx.us
Speaker of the House – Dennis Bonnen (512) 463-1000 dennis.bonnen@house.texas.gov
Senator Jane Nelson (512) 463-0112 jane.nelson@senate.texas.gov
Senator  Kelly Hancock (512) 463-0109 kelly.hancock@senate.texas.gov
Senator Larry Taylor (512) 463-0111 larry.taylor@senate.texas.gov
Senator Joan Huffman (512) 463-0117 joan.huffman@senate.texas.gov
Representative Giovanni Capriglione (512) 463-0690 giovanni.capriglione@house.texas.gov
Representative Oscar Longoria (512) 463-0645 oscar.longoria@house.texas.gov
Representative Dustin Burrows (512) 463-0542 dustin.burrows@house.texas.gov
Representative Mary Gonzalez (512) 463-0613 mary.gonzalez@house.texas.gov

As a reference, below are the information sheets on the Medicaid ABA Benefit, the Children’s Autism Program, and What is ABA? from our first Medicaid/ABA alert.

Implement Rider 32 – Medicaid ABA Benefit! Children’s Autism Program (CAP) One-Page Information Sheet What is Applied Behavioral Analysis (ABA) therapy? IBI vs. ABA, and Rider 32