Advocacy Action Alert | SB 180 – Improved Teacher Training!


SB 180 – Improved Teacher Training!

Posted: 4/8/21

Issue:

Students in special education vary greatly in their disabilities and learning and support needs, including students with autism. SB-180 would improve training and staff development for primary and secondary educators to enable them to more effectively serve all students. The bill would specify what each educator is expected to know and be able to do, particularly with regard to students with disabilities. The training and development would include things such as evidence based inclusion practices, accommodations, flexibility in the ways material is presented, reduce barriers to instruction, and maintain high achievement expectations.

Bill:

SB 180 by Senator Eddie Lucio (Companion: HB 159 by Rep.Mary Gonzalez)

Full bill text can be found here: https://capitol.texas.gov/BillLookup/History.aspx?LegSess=87R&Bill=SB180

Specific Action Needed:

SB 180 has not had a hearing. Ask, “Please have the Senate Education Committee members bring the bill up for a hearing. Companion bill, HB 159 has already been voted out of the House Education Committee”.   

Who to Call/Email:

Please contact members of the Senate Education Committee below.

Senate Education Committee

   

Senator Larry Taylor – Chair

(512) 463-0111

larry.taylor@senate.texas.gov

Senator Eddie Lucio Jr. – Vice Chair

(512) 463-0127

eddie.lucio@senate.texas.gov

Senator Paul Bettencourt

(512) 463-0107

paul.bettencourt@senate.texas.gov

Senator Bob Hall

(512) 463-0102

bob.hall@senate.texas.gov

Senator Bryan Hughes

(512) 463-0101

bryan.hughes@senate.texas.gov

Senator José Menéndez

(512) 463-0126

jose.menendez@senate.texas.gov

Senator Angela Paxton

(512) 463-0108

angela.paxton@senate.texas.gov

Senator Charles Perry

(512) 463-0128

charles.perry@senate.texas.gov

Senator Beverly Powell

(512) 463-0110

beverly.powell@senate.texas.gov

Senator Charles Schwertner

(512) 463-0105

charles.schwertner@senate.texas.gov

Senator Royce West

(512) 463-0123

royce.west@senate.texas.gov

Committee Clerk Bradley Hurt

(512) 463-0355

bradley.hurt_sc@senate.texas.gov

Now take action on the companion bill, HB 159: https://www.texasautismsociety.org/hb195-teachertraining/

Let us know if you were successful or if AST Advocacy staff need to do any follow-ups at 512-479-4199 Ext. 10 or advocacy@texasautismsociety.org.